Pour vous authentifier, privilégiez eduGAIN / To authenticate, prefer eduGAINeu

RAMP 04 El Niño



200 rue André Ampère 91 440 Bures-sur-Yvette
Balázs Kégl (LAL)

Predict six months ahead the temperature at surface (TAS) in the El Niño 3.4 region from TAS data simulated by the CCSM4 model, brought to you by Claire Monteleoni (GWU), Mahesh Mohan (GWU), Timothy DelSole (COLA), Kathleen Pegion (COLA), Julie Leloup (LOCEAN), and your regular coaches.

The event will take place at Proto204, a 10 minute walk from either the Orsay-Ville or the Bur-sur-Yvette RER B stations.

Supporting material:

Some general guidelines. 

Your primary goal is to have a high score in the "contributivity" column. One way to achieve it is to submit a strong model, high in the "score" column, but we appreciate especially those models which do not have top scores but are sufficiently different from the rest of the models to achieve high score in the "contributivity" column.

A general rule is that you should not resubmit until your previous model has not yet been trained (it shows up in the "New models" table.)

Some strategies you can employ:

  1. Take a good regressor and work on the feature extractor or vice verse.
  2. Take a good regressor or feature extractor and optimize its hyperparameters using smac or hyperopt. See the course material for help.
  3. Take two good submissions and combine the feature extractor and the classifier.
  • Alexander Mikheev
  • Alexandre Cazé
  • Alexandre Gramfort
  • Amir Sani
  • Anaastase Charantonis
  • Anais Moller
  • Aurélia Léon
  • Bogdan-Ionut Cirstea
  • Brice LABEJOF
  • Bruno Seznec
  • Carlos Mejia
  • Damien Mourot
  • Delphine Le
  • Djalel Benbouzid
  • Dmitry Khvorostyanov
  • Eugene Belilovsky
  • Gaetan Marceau Caron
  • José Lopez
  • Julie Leloup
  • Julien Brajard
  • Kevin Lourd
  • Laurent Direr
  • Marion Saint-Lu
  • matthieu warnier
  • Maxim Berman
  • mehdi cherti
  • Mohamed Djallel DILMI
  • nawal akrour
  • Nicolas Judalet
  • Olivier Isson
  • Pierre-Yves Massé
  • Rafael MARINI
  • Sourava Prasad Mishra
  • Thibault de Boissiere
  • Thierry Silbermann
  • Tien PHAN
  • Tung NGUYEN V. N.
  • Victor Estrade
  • Yohann Sitruk
    • 9:00 AM 9:30 AM
      Welcome of participants & Coffee
    • 9:30 AM 10:00 AM
      Introduction talk
    • 10:00 AM 12:00 PM
      Session 1
    • 12:00 PM 1:30 PM
      Buffet & presentation of the first results
    • 1:30 PM 3:00 PM
      Session 2
    • 3:00 PM 3:30 PM
    • 3:30 PM 5:00 PM
      Session 3
    • 5:00 PM 6:00 PM
      Debriefing and closing